

## SYNDICATE BANK PENSIONERS & RETIREES ASSOCIATION(REGD.)

(Affiliated to AIBPARC a wing of AIBOC)

CENTRAL OFFICE





\_\_\_\_\_

Circular No. 7/2015 (PLEASE CIRCULATE TO ALL MEMBERS/RETIREES) Date: 3.05.2015.

Dear comrades,

## 6TH MEETING OF CENTRAL COMMITTEE HELD AT CHENNAI. COM. DINKER S. PUNJA COOPTED AS CHAIRMAN

The 6<sup>th</sup> meeting of Central committee of SBPRA was held at Hotel Marina Inn, Egmore, Chennai on 25<sup>th</sup> March 2015 in terms of General Secretary's Notice dated 20.02.2015. Com. R K Sharma President chaired the meeting. SBOA was represented by Com. Prakash Karotya, President. The Central Committee noted with applause SBPRA membership crossing the mile stone of 5000 mark. The General Secretary Com. C Gangadhar Yadav placed before the house activities of the organisation during the period under review. He elaborated the outcome of Grievance Redressal Committee Meeting held with the Management at Head Office, Manipal on 03.03.2015 which was a land mark in the history of retirees' movement of the bank and congratulated the members. He thanked SBOA leadership particularly Com. Dinker S Punja, former General Secretary of SBOA for his relentless efforts in making the said meeting a reality. Minutes of the GRC meeting were already communicated to members. Thereafter he extensively narrated about industry level issues – on going wage revision talks between IBA and UFBU vis-a vis Charter of Demands of retirees, organisational matters, AIBPARC activities and its proposed meeting on 26.03.2015 at Chennai. He stressed upon the need for our preparedness to implement any action plan given by AIBPARC in the course of pursuit of retirees' demands. While presenting financial statements and accounts he stated that utmost vigil was exercised in spending the money by adopting strict austerity measures and by doing so a reasonable buffer funds were created to meet any exigency.

Then Co-options to fill the vacancies in the Central/ Zonal Committees were taken up and the following co-options proposed by the concerned Zones were adopted by the House.

- 1. Com. Jagannath Chaubey, Bhopal, as Joint Secretary of Ahmedabad Zone in the existing vacancy.
- 2. Com. Swapan Mitra, Kolkatta, as Zonal Secretary of Kolkatta Zone in the existing vacancy.
- 3. Com. Tapan Mukherjee as Regional Secretary of Kolkatta Region in the existing vacancy.
- 4. Com. D S Pendse, Regional Secretary of Pune Region in the existing vacancy.
- 5. Com. U R Yedalwar, Regional Secretary of Nagpur Region in the existing vacancy.
- 6. Com. P B Bugde, Regional Secretary of Mumbai Region in the existing vacancy.
- 7. Com. B G Jagadishappa, Regional Secretary of Shimoga Region in the existing vacancy.
- 8. Com. D M Kulkarni, Com. Venkatachalam, Com. Meenakshi Sharma of Mumbai Zone and
- 9. Com. J V Shetty, Com. Janardhan Pai of Udupi Zone as Zonal Council Members, respectively.

Thereafter the house discussed at length present scenario of retirees' movement in the bank as well as industry level and the need to further expand the team of office bearers to share the responsibilities. It was felt that there was an urgent need to entrust/delegate responsibilities of attending to the functions such as liaison between the Association and our bank's management at various levels and to step up our role at the national confederation level. In this direction it was decided to create an additional post i.e. "Chairman" with the said responsibilities as well as to chair the meetings. A resolution was passed to propose a suitable amend the constitution and Bye law of the Association and to fill in the post by cooption subject to approval by the ensuing General Body. While considering proposals to fill the post the Central Committee unanimously felt that Com. Dinker S. Punja will be best suited. With this Com. Dinker S. Punja was coopted. We have since contacted him and he has consented to accept the responsibility as Chairman of SBPRA and assured to serve the organisation in the new role to the best of his capabilities. While extending our congratulations and best wishes, we look forward to work with him to take the organisation to further heights and come up to the expectations of members.

The house felicitated Com. Prakash Karotya on his elevation as President of SBOA and wished him success in the new role. In response Com. Karotya thanked the house and assured continued support in strengthening SBPRA in pursuit of retirees' issues. The meeting was concluded with the Vote of thanks proposed by Com. K Suresh Babu.

With warm greetings. Yours comradely,

C Gangadhar Yadav GENERAL SECRETARY

> SBPRA - ZINDABAD AIBPARC – ZINDABAD